List of Ministers in Namibia

List of Ministers in Namibia

Who is a Minister of State?

Minister of State is a title borne by politicians or officials in certain countries governed under a parliamentary system. In some countries a ‘Minister of State’ is a junior minister, who is assigned to assist a specific cabinet minister.

Overview of Namibia Ministries

The Government of Namibia consists of the executive, the legislative and the judiciary branches. The Cabinet is the executive organ of government, implementing the laws of the country. It consists of the President, the Prime Minister and his deputy, as well as the Ministers

List of Ministries in Namibia

There are 23 Ministries in Namibia

The Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry (MAWF)

The Ministry of Defence (MoD)

The Ministry of Education, Arts and Culture (MoE)

The Ministry of Environment and Tourism (MET)

The Ministry of Finance (MoF)

The Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources (MFMR)

The Ministry of Gender Equality and Child Welfare (MGECF)

The Ministry of Health and Social Services (MHSS)

The Higher Education, Training and Innovation (MHETI)

The Ministry of Home Affairs and Immigration (MHA)

The Industrialization, Trade and SME Development (MTI)

The International Relations and Cooperation (MIRCo)

The Ministry of Information and Communication Technology (MICT)

The Ministry of Justice (MoJ)

The Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Creation (MOL)

Ministry of Land Reform (MLR)

The Ministry of Mines and Energy (MME)

The Poverty Eradication and Social Welfare (MPESW)

The Ministry of Public Enterprises (MSS)

The Ministry of Safety and Security (MSS)

The Sport, Youth and National Service (MSYNS)

The Ministry of Works and Transport (MoW)

The Urban and Rural Development (MURD)

The Agencies of central government are

Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC)

Electoral Commission (EC)

Central Intelligence Service (NCIS)

National Planning Commission (NPC)

Office of the Attorney-General (OAG)

Office of the Auditor-General (OAG)

Office of the Ombudsman

Public Service Commission of Namibia (PSC)

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Below are questions related to the government of Namibia;

How many ministers does Namibia have?

Namibia has 23 Ministries.

Who is first prime minister of Namibia?

Geingob served as the first Prime Minister of Namibia from 1990 to 2002, when Namibia gained independence from South Africa. In 2007 and 2012 he was appointed vice-president of SWAPO.

How many members of parliament are there in Namibia 2020?

96 members are directly elected through a system of closed-list proportional representation and serve five-year terms. Eight additional members are appointed by the President.

Why did Germany want Namibia?

The reason Germany selected Namibia as its “protectorate” was influenced by the fact that a tobacco merchant from Bremen, Franz Luderitz, bought up coastal land in the area in 1882. This resulted in Germany actively establishing itself in the African country by 1884. They occupied Herero lands.

Who is the famous person in Namibia?

Hendrik Witbooi is the most famous person in Namibia history.

He died in action in 1905 but remains a celebrated national hero. His face was portrayed on the obverse of all Namibian dollar banknotes until 20 March 2012 and is still on all N$50, N$100, and N$200 notes.

How old is the founding father of Namibia?

Nujoma, who is also known as the ‘Father of the Namibian nation’, was born on 12 May 1929 at Ongandjera in northern Namibia. Nujoma was Namibia’s head of state for 15 years, from 1990 to 2005, as the first president after independence.

How much does a president earn in Namibia?

The Namibian reported earlier this year that the President could earn around N$1,7 million per year (after the Presidential Remuneration Bill was passed into law), which is about 23% more than what former President Hifikepunye Pohamba earned.

What is MP short for?

MP is an abbreviation for Member of Parliament

Who are in the Namibia parliament?

Members of Parliament

  • President.
  • Vice-President.
  • Prime Minister.
  • Council of Ministers.
  • Governors.
  • Lt. Governors & Administrators.
  • Chief Ministers.
  • Judges of Supreme Court.

What did Sam Nujoma do for Namibia?

He established the People’s Liberation Army of Namibia (PLAN) in 1962 and launched a guerrilla war against the apartheid government of South Africa in August 1966 at Omungulugwombashe, beginning after the United Nations withdrew the mandate for South Africa to govern the territory.

Who appoints the PM in Namibia?

There is a Council of Ministers headed by the Prime Minister to aid and advise the President in exercise of his functions. The Prime Minister is appointed by the President, who also appoints other ministers on the advice of Prime Minister. 

Who plays a big role in Namibia?

Nujoma would spend the next 30 years of his life away from his home, championing the cause of Namibian independence around the world. Nujoma played a particularly active role at the United Nations, which recognized SWAPO as the legitimate representative of the Namibian people.

Was Namibia ever part of South Africa?

Yes. Namibia gained independence from South Africa on 21 March 1990, following the Namibian War of Independence. Its capital and largest city is Windhoek. Namibia is a member state of the United Nations (UN), the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the African Union (AU) and the Commonwealth of Nations.

Why is Namibia no longer part of South Africa?

In August 1966, the South African Border War began between the South West Africa People’s Organization (SWAPO) and the South African Defence Force. In 1993, South Africa ceded Walvis Bay to Namibia: this small enclave was never part of German West Africa and so had not been part of the mandate territory.