List of Municipalities in Namibia

List of Municipalities in Namibia

What is a Municipality?

A municipality is usually a single administrative division having corporate status and powers of self-government or jurisdiction as granted by national and regional laws to which it is subordinate. 

Overview of Municipalities in Namibia

The Association of Local Authorities Namibia is a body that represents all local authority members in Namibia. In addition, it provides a platform on which these local authorities can air their grievances and thereby provide better services for the community.

Aims and Objectives

The Association aims to be a dynamic, self sustaining organization that plays an advocacy role on behalf of local authorities, with a view to promoting and assisting its membership address socioeconomic problems in a comprehensive and sustainable manner in order to stimulate growth and financial stability.

The Association aims to protect, safeguard and enhance the image, interests, rights and privileges of Local Authorities by such means, as may be Constitutional.

The List of Municipalities in Namibia

Here are the current number of municipalities in Namibia;

Arandis Town Municipal Council

Aranos Town Municipal Council

Kavango East Regional Council

Town Council Ondangwa

Outapi Town Municipal Council

Walvis Bay Municipality

Municipality of Tsumeb

Municipality of Swakopmund

Rundu Town Council

Town Council of Rehoboth

Erongo Regional Council

Ongwediva Town Municipal Council

Municipality of Otjiwarongo

Oshikuku Town Municipal Council

Oshana Regional Council

Oshakati Town Municipal Council

Municipal Council Omuthiya

Ohangwena Regional Council

Nkurenkuru Town Council

Municipality of Mariental

Hardap Regional Council

Lüderitz Town Council

Karas Regional Council

Keetmanshoop Municipal Council

Katima Mulilo Town Council

Grootfontein Municipal Council

Gobabis Municipal Council

Omaheke Regional Council

Stampriet Village Council

Usakos Town Municipal Council

Eenhana Town Municipal Council

Municipality of Outjo

Tses Village Council

Khorixas Town Council

Karasburg Town Council

Municipality of Okahandja

Eenhana Town Council

Municipality of Omaruru

Okakarara Town Council

Gochas Council

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Below are some questions in relation to municipalities in Namibia and beyond;

How do you classify municipalities in Namibia?

Municipalities are classified by income brackets from N$15 million and below to N$55 million or more. One proxy for the wealth of a region is to count the number of first class municipalities, and also cities, which are also centers of wealth.

Is municipality and county the same thing?

As nouns the difference between municipality and county is that municipality is a district with a government that typically encloses no other governed districts; a borough, city, or incorporated town or village while a county is (historical) the land ruled by a count or a countess.

What are the four types of municipalities in Namibia?

Each county is divided into municipal corporations, which can be one of four types: cities, boroughs, townships, and incorporated towns.

What is the role and importance of municipalities?

A municipality must—

(a) structure and manage its administration and budgeting and planning processes to give priority to the basic needs of the community, and to promote the social and economic development of the community; and

(b) participate in national and provincial development programmes.

What is an example of a municipality in Namibia?

The definition of a municipality is a local area with its own government, or the government of such an area. An example of a municipality is the government of an incorporated village. Hence, Tses Village Council will be classified as a municipality.

What is a municipal leader in Namibia?

Mayor, in modern usage, the head of a municipal government. As such, the mayor is almost invariably the chairman of the municipal council and of the council executive committee. In addition the mayor may fulfill the roles of chief executive officer, ceremonial figurehead, and local agent of the central government.

What do they mean by municipality?

When we say Municipality, it means a town or district that has local government.

What is a municipality vs City?

The main difference between Municipality and City is that the Municipality is a urban administrative division having corporate status and usually powers of self-government or jurisdiction and City is a large and permanent human settlement.

Which is the best definition of a Namibian municipality?

A town or city granted the right by the state to form it’s own government.

Is a village a municipality?

Typically, a village is a type of municipality, although it can also be a special district or an unincorporated area. It may or may not be recognized for governmental purposes.

What is the role of municipality?

Land development, water, and sewer, waste management, cemeteries, and fire-fighting are mandatory functions of municipalities. It is the most important function of municipalities to make land development plans and supervise buildings in the cities.

What are local regulations called?

A local ordinance is a law for a political division smaller than a state, i.e., a local government of a municipality, county, parish, prefecture, etc.

What is another word for municipality?

Other words for municipality;