By | March 22, 2018

Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST) receives another Professional Management Review (PMR) Africa Awards

NUST has once again received the highest awards in higher education at the annual Professional Management Review (PMR) Africa Awards ceremony. This year’s event was held earlier this week and the University was amongst the top achievers.

FROM LEFT: Dr Rolf Becker, Dean: Faculty of Natural Resources and Spatial Sciences; Suama Hamunyela, Head of Informatics Department: Faculty of Computing and Informatics; Dr Tjama Tjivikua, NUST Vice-Chancellor and Dr Seeham Khan, Dean: Health and Applied Sciences.

The University continues to take the lead in the education sector in the country, with a particular focus on Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) fields. The accolades received are two Diamond Arrow Awards, in the categories of Higher Education/Tertiary Institution, and Executive Education through the Harold Pupkewitz Graduate School of Business (HP-GSB).

The awards are the culmination of a research process whereby companies and institutions are rated based on respondents’ perceptions with a focus on measuring customer satisfaction. A company, department, institution and individual cannot ‘enter’ the research process, but must always be nominated and rated by the respondents.

HP-GSB’s commitment to offering quality postgraduate business and management education was further strengthened with the development of a postgraduate Diploma in Management (PGDipl.M) scheduled for implementation this year.

Johan Hattingh, the Chief Executive Officer of PMR. Africa, said that the awards set a benchmark for industry.

From 2002 to 2008, the Institution has walked away with six PMR Gold Arrow Awards as the Best Higher Education/Tertiary Education Institution in Namibia, and has won the Diamond Arrow Award (top award) in this category every year since 2009.Dr Tjama Tjivikua, the NUST Vice-Chancellor and other senior managers were present to receive the award on behalf of the University.